Call for Nominations: Innovate German Award 2023

Innovate German

Innovate German, © Colourbox

16.11.2022 - Article

German Studies Canada (GSC) and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) are pleased to announce the Call for Nominations for the Innovate German Award 2023. They invite nominations and self-nominations for the best course materials in the field of German Studies at Canadian universities and colleges.

The award focuses on new courses, curriculum and program development, and the implementation of new teaching and learning approaches. This could include classroom-based courses, immersion or study abroad / field schools, distance courses, online and/or blended courses, the flipped classroom approach, or new programming or curricula, at the undergraduate or the graduate level. The content may include any aspect of German Studies (language, literature, theory, film, drama, media, history, politics, business, etc.). 

The award includes a prize of $1,000 as well as registration and, as applicable, a travel & accommodation bursary to attend the next annual conference of GSC. The 2023 Innovate German Award winner will be announced at this conference and have the opportunity to present the winning course materials there.

To nominate a course, please provide course materials that show innovative and engaging ways of presenting course-related materials (e.g., modules, student projects). These materials must have been applied in syllabi in the 2021/22 academic years. Nominations must also include a one-page statement explaining why the materials should be considered for this award, and evidence of student learning or achievement (such as presentations at an undergraduate colloquium, student research posters, or student responses and reflections).

Members of any department or program at a Canadian university or college may submit materials for consideration, as long as the content of the materials is related to German Studies. We accept self-nominations as well as nominations of a colleague’s course(s) or site(s). The award committee will require access to all relevant pages. All materials will be treated confidentially. 

The award committee consists of the GSC Vice-President (Chair), one other GSC executive member, one DAAD representative, and one past winner of the award.

Nomination deadline: January 31, 2023.

Please send your nominations to Dr. Carrie Smith: carrie.smith(at)ualberta.ca

Top of page